toscane toscana tuscany



lucca in tuscany Lucca is a town of approximately 85 000 inhabitants, chief town of the province of the same name. It was formerly, before the realization of the Italian unit, the capital of the sovereign duchy of Lucca (1815-1847), and remained throughout the history its independence in respect to its powerful Florence neighbour which dominated all Tuscany.
Lucca is a city strengthened with a number of historic buildings, especially churches.


Main sights, places

coat of arms luccaCathedral of Lucca (duomo)
Church San Michele in Foro
Basilica di San Frediano
Church dei Santi Giovanni
Church di San Pietro Somaldi
Piazza Napoleone
Piazza dell' Anfiteatro (ex - anfiteatro romano)
Piazza San Michele
Palate of the dukes (Palazzo Ducale)
Tower Torre delle ore
House and Guinigi tower
National museum Guinigi
Museum and national Art gallery of Lucca

See also : Pictures and monuments of Lucca


Tuscany - Map of Tuscany - Florence - Siena - Pisa - Lucca - San Gimignano - Pienza - History of Tuscany

© italy-trip.org 2015